Holiday Potluck:
  • Saturday, December 7, 2019, 7:00-10:00 p.m.
    Kirsten West's home

Executive Board Meetings:
  • First Thursday of each month at 10:30 a.m.
    Steinway Gallery, 1605 Bonanza St, Walnut Creek
    Check calendar below for specific dates.

Past Events:

May 4, 2019: MSSL Fashion Show at Macy’s Walnut Creek raised $5,000 for the Katie Nues Foundation. Read More.


Welcome to the Contra Costa Branch
of MTAC!

The Music Teachers' Association of California (MTAC) is a musical organization, founded in 1897, to promote and encourage the highest standard in music education. We are comprised of 61 branches and nearly 4,700 members statewide.


CCMTAC, the Contra Costa Branch of the Music Teachers' Association of California, is a professional organization dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in music education. The Contra Costa Branch, established in1949, has over 130 members. We offer programs for students to make a positive impact on the quality of music education such as the Sonata Festival, Baroque Festival, branch recitals and masterclasses as well as involvement in community outreach through the Music Students’ Service League. Programs for members inspire quality teaching and continuation of teacher education through lectures and masterclasses sponsored by our branch. State programs for students include the Certificate of Merit, VOCE and opportunities to perform at the annual State MTAC Convention.

2017-2019 Board

President: Tanya Heeb

Vice-President: Sharon Linton

Membership Secretary: Norma Bristol

Recording Secretary: Gail Peterson

Treasurer: Julie Rieth


Baroque Festival Jeanette Dreifuerst
Certificate of Merit Julie Rieth
Student Recitals Lorraine Philips
Programs Patti Lim
Parliamentarian Georgia Couch
Teacher Performance Workshops Barbara Anderson

Special Event Coordinators

Baroque Festival Marcia Berryman, Jeanette Dreifuerst, Julia Neyshloss, Angela Prickett
Certificate of Merit Jeanette Dreifuerst, Gail Peterson, Lorraine Phillips, Julie Rieth
High School Senior Recital Ruth Ann Schwan
MSSL Jenny Wong
Sonata Contest Olga Diaz
VOCE James Greening
Composers Today Peggy O’Dell